Clinical Reasoning: Thinking Fast and Slow

Home Forums General Discussion Forum Clinical Reasoning: Thinking Fast and Slow

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      AJ Lievre

Check out this video that the clinical reasoning consortium has on the different types of thinking. While watching this, can you relate specific patient encounters where you were accessing system 1 or system 2? Does it make more sense why certain patient encounters seem easier than others?

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1rmYq_ihMTdZ6FDSzm7-n71CKa5xnNtSv/view

For a more detailed understanding of the different types of thinking here is a great read while you are quarantined

helenrshep
      Participant

Initially when I graduated I was all system 2 then as I got more comfortable I shifted to system 1, and now that I’m in residency I’m back in 2 most of the time. I think those “I got this,” “slam dunk” type of patients have us in system 1 but we need to be careful to know when to switch back system 2. I think I’m sometimes guilty of ignoring some of those “triggers” that should cause me to go back towards system 2, and then I try to stick it out in system 1 for too long.

I think our clinical reasoning helps us avoid biases as best as possible by ruling in instead of out, casting a wide net initially, and really thinking about our thinking while treating patients.

awilson12
      Participant

A specific example of use of both systems-
      I had a patient that presented with a lateral ankle sprain and was able to use a lot more system 1 thinking and pattern recognition to guide my subjective and objective examination. However, when things were not progressing as I had experienced before in similar cases and based on my expectations for this patient I had to shift to a more system 2 type approach and further problem solve as to why this could be.