June Article Discussion – Biomechanical Factors Associated with MTSS and AT

Home Forums General Discussion Forum June Article Discussion – Biomechanical Factors Associated with MTSS and AT

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      Scott Resetar
      Participant

Attached is an intersting study published online in AJSM recently, performed out at the University of Oregon (quack quack, go ducks). I am by no means a running expert, but I learned a lot about running mechanics in this article, and some things about foot structure clicked that I didn’t have a good mental representation of before I read this. So, here we go.

The researchers discussed the mechanisms that might be similar between Medial Tibias Stress Syndrome (MTSS) and Achilles Tendinopathy (AT). The most cited factor in these conditions in the literature is either an excessive amount of rearfoot eversion, or an excessive velocity of rearfoot eversion. The authors believe however, that only total time spent in rearfoot eversion matters (represented as a % of stance phase)

Here’s the bit about foot structure that really stuck out to me:

“During the first half of stance, as the rearfoot everts, the axes of
      the transverse tarsal, cuneonavicular, and tarsometatarsal joints align, allowing the foot to become soft and flexible. During the second half of stance, as the rearfoot supinates, the axes of these joints converge, turning the foot into a rigid lever for use during push-off. Therefore, if eversion is prolonged beyond midstance, then push-off will begin with a soft flexible foot. This configuration may require much greater effort from the intrinsic and extrinsic foot muscles to both stabilize the foot and generate sufficient torque during push-off.”

Makes a lot of sense.