"My Pelvis is OUT"

Home Forums General Discussion Forum "My Pelvis is OUT"

Viewing 11 reply threads
  • Author
      Michael McMurray
      Keymaster

http://www.bodyinmind.org/asymmetries-pelvis/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+com%2FiUuh+%28Body+in+Mind%29

Have a read – share some ideas.

Have a great weekend

Eric

Attachments:
      You must be logged in to view attached files.
      Nick Law
      Participant

The 2015-2016 VOMPTI residency theme (at least a significant one amongst a few) continues.

I am no expert on what I perceive and suppose to be a large scope of literature examining pelvic misalignment. The authors of this article postulate (albeit from 1998 research) that evidence is poor. My current view is that such misalignments are indeed possible – likely following significant trauma/impact or prolonged unilateral posturing or excessive repetitive motion in a unilateral direction. However, although I would imagine that such misalignments are possible, they are in no way common and are rarely THE source of a patients symptoms. Minor asymmetries have been, are, and will be present in all of us and do not need to be pathological. Again, not an expert on the literature or on this issue and would love to hear the thoughts of other residents/mentors.

In light of all that we have learned this year (and still learning) regarding the supremacy of central processing involved in the experience of pain, the results of this article are not surprising. To me it certainly helps explain the larger proportion of patients who feel as if there pelvis is in/out/up/down, etc… when in reality their positioning is little if at all different compared to what it has been previously when they were pain free.